All Guides: Personal Support Worker: Find Sources

Find Sources

Welcome Personal Support Worker Students!

You can access a range of sources related to PSW on this guide. If you don't know where to start, try searching the recommended databases for books, articles, videos, and more. Check out the Research Help page to learn how to build database searches as well as the Citation Help page for APA Style support.

Sorrentino's Canadian Textbook for the Support Worker (Print)

Comprehensive Guide to Supportive & Palliative Care for Patients with Cancer (eBook)

The Human Body in Health & Disease (Print)

Grant's Atlas of Anatomy (Print)

Foundations of Mental Health Care (Print)

Mosby's Canadian Textbook for the Support Worker (Print)

Lippincott's Textbook for the Personal Support Workers (Print)

Medical Terminology (Print)

Textbook of Palliative Care Communication (eBook)

Print Books

While most of our content is online, you may find it helpful to use one of our print books, DVDs and reference works. Printed materials are organized by call number, which corresponds to a subject area. The call number can be found on the spine of the book. Search the library catalogue to find relevant material, or browse these call number sections:

BF712-724.85 - Developmental psychology. Including psychology of aging.
HQ1060-1064 -Aged, Gerontology (Social Aspects), Retirement.
HV1450-1494 - Aged.
R726.5-726.8 - Medicine & disease in relation to psychology. Terminal care. Dying.
QA 1-695 - Human Anatomy.

Search the Library

Selected Databases

Search these database for resources like encyclopedias, videos, journals, and specialized resources like the DSM Library (Psychiatry Online):

AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window
EBSCO
Includes information on over a thousand drugs written in lay language for consumers.
Retired; Now part of Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition.
Permitted Uses
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
EBSCO
Over 200 journals on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health and wellness.
Permitted Uses
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO
Over 1,300 full-text journals for nursing and allied health professionals. Also, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons (disease overviews).
Up to 12 users at a time.
Permitted Uses
Family Health Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest
Over 550 publications covering the field of family health. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
Permitted Uses
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Gale
Almost 400 journals, 700 health-related videos, articles from 2,200 magazines, and a broad collection of Gale reference titles.
Permitted Uses
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
EBSCO
Bibliographic records and linked full-text journals from the MEDLINE index.
Permitted Uses
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
EBSCO
Over 100 full-text journals covering the field of psychology.
Permitted Uses
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 high quality scientific journals covering science, health, and humanities.
Permitted Uses

Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Canadian Electronic Library
Canadian e-books, government documents, and grey literature, primarily on health, government, and public policy from Canadian Public Documents Collection. Includes the Canadian Public Policy Collection and the Canadian Health Research Collection.
Formerly called desLibris.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Proquest
Thousands of downloadable e-book titles covering a wide range of all academic disciplines. Includes the College Complete Collection, made available by the Colleges eBook Consortium Project.
Note: Use Firefox, Chrome or Safari. Edge is not supported by this database. Number of permitted users varies by title. Permitted Uses
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO
Over 250,000 ebooks. Multidisciplinary.
Note:Number of concurrent users varies by title. Download select titles for 3 days.Permitted Uses

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Britannica
The online Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes images, maps, videos, and more.
Permitted Uses
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo
Over 600 Encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and quotations books, as well as images, audio files and videos. Multidisciplinary.
Permitted Uses

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Proquest
Over 300 full-text Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading newspaper dailies, including The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, and more. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
Permitted Uses
Gale OneFile: CPI.Q This link opens in a new window
Gale
Over 830 full-text Canadian magazines, newspapers, and journals. Includes biographies. Multi-disciplinary.
Permitted Uses
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 full-page, full color U.S. and international newspapers.
Please note:Globe & Mail content in PressReader is licensed for on-site access only.
Permitted Uses

eJournal Spotlight

A select list of journals for the Personal Support Worker program are highlighted below. Refer to the eJournal Portal to browse these publications, as well as many others, by title, keyword, and topic.

Websites

Finding good quality sources is an important skill to learn and develop throughout your studies. Ensure that you choose the best sources for your assignments by reviewing Sheridan Library's Evaluating Websites guide. Browse these professional organizations and associations to find current information related to your field of study:

More Guides

Sheridan Library has other resource pages that you can explore on similar topics:

Personal Support Worker

Librarian