Linking to Library Resources: Articles

Most database vendors provide the option to create a persistent link to an item record or full-text article.

Find step-by-step instructions for:

The following are EBSCO databases:

Academic Search Complete, Alt HealthWatch, Applied Science and Technology Source, Art Source, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, Education Source, Health Source, Humanities Source, MasterFILE Elite, Medline, PsycARTICLES, SPORTDiscus with Full Text, SocINDEX with Full Text.

EBSCO database example:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Academic Search Complete from the list of databases
• Conduct a search and click the article title
• Click on the label Permalink on the right-hand side of the screen
• Copy the URL and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

The following are Gale databases:

Academic OneFile, Canadian Periodical Index Quarterly (CPI.Q.), Computer Database, Criminal Justice Collection, Educator's Reference Complete, Fine Arts & Music Collection, Popular Culture Collection.

Gale database example:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Academic OneFile from the list of databases
• Conduct a search and click the article title
• Scroll down to the bottom of the article
• Copy the Document URL and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

OVID articles may be accessed by searches performed on Summon

OVID database example:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Conduct a search on Summon and click the article title
• Under Article Tools to the right of the article, click Email Jumpstart
• Copy the Jumpstart URL and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

The following are ProQuest databases:

ABI/Inform, ARTbibliography Modern, CBCA Business, CBCA Reference and Current Events, Canadian Newsstand, Criminal Justice Periodicals, DAAI: Design and Applies Arts Index, Physical Education Index, ProQuest Business Collection.

ProQuest database example:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose ABI/Inform from the list of databases
• Conduct a search
• Click on the article title
• Scroll down to the Document URL (end of article)
• Copy the URL and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

The following ProQuest database uses an alternate search.

Electric Library

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Electric Library from the list of databases
• Conduct a search
• Click on the article title
• Email the article to yourself
• Right-click on Link to document in email to copy link location
• Paste URL in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers) are unique numbers assigned to digital objects and will not change over time.  DOIs are usually found in the abstracts or TOCs, at the top or bottom of a journal article.  To create a persistent link, simply add the following prefix to the DOI number:

http://dx.doi.org.library.sheridanc.on.ca/

ScienceDirect Example:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click on Databases A-Z
• Choose ScienceDirect from the list of databases
• Conduct a search and click on an article title
• Copy the DOI number located above the article title (e.g. 10.1016/0364-6408(94)90052-3)
• Add the prefix http://dx.doi.org.library.sheridanc.on.ca/ to the number (e.g. http://dx.doi.org.library.sheridanc.on.ca/10.1016/0364-6408(94)90052-3)

   Note: These instructions may be used for IEEE xPlore Digital Library as well.

Top

ASTM Standards Online:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose ASTM Standards Online from the list of databases
• Conduct a search and click the article title
• Copy the URL in the address bar and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Conference Board of Canada E-Library:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Conference Board of Canada E-Library from the list of databases
• Conduct a search and click the article title
• Copy the URL in the address bar and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

IBIS World:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose IBIS World from the list of databases
• Conduct a search and click the article title
• Copy the URL in the address bar and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Mergent Online:

• Go to the Library Services Website
• Click Databases A-Z
• Choose Mergent Online from the list of databases
• Conduct a search and click the article title
• Copy the URL in the address bar and paste in the appropriate location with the Off-Campus Access prefix

Top

To enable access from off-campus locations, you will need to add the following prefix to the persistent link:

http://login.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login?url=

http://login.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com