Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library and Learning Services Accessibility Help Guide: LEAP

An internal guide for Sheridan Library staff to answer their questions about accessibility, UDL and AODA requirements.

Library Eresources Accessibility Portal (LEAP)

LEAP is a self-audit tool that allows library staff at participating institutions to evaluate the accessibility of library eresources. LEAP also contains a growing repository of accessibility assessment reports that library staff can review to help make acquisition decisions, support library users, and advocate for accessible eresources.

The primary goal of LEAP is to assist the college libraries in meeting and exceeding our legislative obligations under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) to “provide, procure or acquire by other means” digital resources in an “accessible or conversion ready format” upon request by January 1st 2020. 

Your main contact for LEAP in Library and Learning Services is Madeleine Crew

Benefit to Libraries

  

LEAP will build accessibility competencies among library staff and will increase the accessibility of eresources across the sector. Library staff will be able to use the tool and assessment results to:

  • Evaluate the accessibility of a library’s existing e-resource collection;
  • Conduct or consult assessments during trials and the acquisitions process;
  • Share findings with vendors to advocate for changes that promote accessibility;
  • Work with licensing groups to develop language to include in licence agreements;
  • Translate results into user support.
  • The main outcome of this project is to develop a tool for library staff to assess electronic resources in alignment with specific accessibility criteria, and to create a shared repository of assessments.
  • LEAP will help us better understand the accessibility features and limitations of library databases and will give library staff the information required to mitigate or minimize impact on our patrons.
  • With LEAP we endeavour to create a more inclusive library experience by supporting equitable access to electronic resources without the need for individualized accommodations.
  • This initiative is directed by College Libraries Ontario (CLO), with the support of Ontario Colleges Library Service (OCLS); this work falls under the purview of the AODA Committee for Ontario College Libraries and the LEAP Project Team. 

LEAP is a self-audit tool that allows library staff at participating institutions to evaluate the accessibility of library eresources, and provides a growing repository of accessibility assessment reports that library staff can review to help make acquisition decisions, support library users, and advocate for accessible eresources.

If an assessment has been completed for an eresource, users can view an assessment summary with a summary of the assessment results. The summary includes the overall score for that eresource, as well as a table with a summary of the results of each of the four modules. 

Assessment modules run through a variety of accessibility tests including:

  • Checking PDF accessibility within library databases
  • ensuring databases are easily read and understood by screen readers
  • Screen size and resolution tests
  • Video and audio accessibility
  • Checking accessibility with variety of tools including WAVE Chrome extension and Read and Write Gold
  • View assessments through LEAP homepage

What does the score mean in LEAP assessments? 

  • Each possible response contains a value that is preset when the modules are created
  • The overall assessment score will be presented as a score (e.g., 45/56), a percentage, and a grade (e.g., A, B, C). 
  • Responses of “not applicable” are not counted towards the final score, which is scores will not have a set denominator. 
  • The percentage and grade are meant to provide an overview. However, to understand the challenges or failings of a particular database, it is strongly recommended that users look at the module detail and review where a database has not met necessary criteria for accessibility. 

 

The LEAP tool can be accessed by visiting http://leap.ocls.ca/

You can view your own assessments as well as completed assessments done by other colleges.