Skip to Main Content

For First Year Students: Quickstart Guide

Welcome to Sheridan's Library & Learning Services!

Welcome to Library & Learning Services by Sheridan Library on YouTube

Got questions? This quick-start guide will get you started.

To start using the wealth of resources and services offered by the library, all you need is:

  1. Your Sheridan ONEcard - Use when 'checking out' (ie. issuing, borrowing) books and visiting your campus library.
  2. Your Sheridan Credentials - Use for logging in to computers, and signing in to the library's online resources.

Looking to get started with research? Check out our Research Guides.

All Sheridan campus libraries operate with the same regular hours.

See Contact Us

We have three campus Library and Learning Commons. Visit us at:

Trafalgar Campus | C-wing

Davis Campus | J-wing, A-wing

Hazel McCallion Campus | A-wing

We collect academic material related to all programs and courses offered at Sheridan. Find both the traditional library materials in hard copy format (books, journals, etc) as well as online material available 24/7.

Databases & Streaming Media

Use the Database list to access unique collections of journal articles, newspapers, images, videos, tutorials, and more.

Ebooks

Read books online! Find ebooks through Page 1+.

Textbooks & Course Reserves

Textbooks for some courses are available for 3hr loan periods at each campus library. Search for your textbook titles in Page 1+.

Course reserves are kept behind the service desk at each campus library. Ask at the service desk to pick up a copy.

Not sure what the title is? Lookup textbooks titles and course readings for your courses in the course outline for each of your courses.

ESL Resources

Go to: English Language Learning Guide

Games & Equipment

Borrow board games, video games and PlayStation game consoles from the library. Ask at the service desk.

All Sheridan campus libraries and learning commons provide a range of environments for different needs.

  • Quiet study areas
  • Group study areas where you can collaborate and chat
  • Private group study rooms

Book a Group Study Room online.

The Tutoring Centre offers tutoring through drop-in, appointments, and scheduled group tutoring. Book up to 1.5 hours per week, per subject at no additional charge.

Visit Tutoring on Central for all the details.

Each faculty has a dedicated liaison librarian who can help with specialized research in your program. See our Staff Directory for the Liaison Librarian for your Faculty.

Page 1+ is your one-stop search for all library-related materials. Not only can you search what we have on the shelves, but what we have online, too!

Use your Sheridan ONEcard to borrow, renew or place holds on library materials in person at your campus library, or online through your library account.

Place Holds

Put an item on hold if it is already checked out, or when the item is located at another Sheridan campus library. Place a hold in person at the circulation desk, over the phone, or online using the Page 1+.

Renew Items

You can renew your library items in person or online if there are no holds placed on them. Renewals must be made on or before the item's due date.

Borrowing Period

See our Borrowing Services for loan periods on different types of library items.

My Library Account

Log into My Library Account using your Sheridan credentials to view your checked out items, renew items and place holds.

Computers are available at each campus library and learning commons:

  • Log-in using your Access Sheridan login
  • No booking required!

In addition to both PCs and Macs, the Library provides access to:

  • GREEN Printers (with scanning and photocopying capabilities)
    See: IT Service Desk to setup GREEN printers on your laptop
  • Laptop plug-ins
  • Secure WiFi

See: Printing and Photocopying for details.

The Library and Learning Commons at each campus are dynamic, collaborative, student-centered spaces. Whether you're studying on your own or working on a project with your group, the learning commons is the place to be!

Food & Drink

  • Snack food and covered drinks are permitted in the library.
  • No hot meals, please!
  • Vending machines are generally located just outside of the library.

Noise & Disruptions

  • Excessive noise is considered disrespectful of others. Please use low voices.
  • Use headphones when listening to audio.
  • Quiet study spaces are available at each campus library.

See: Food, Noise, & Appropriate Behaviour

Universal access is a core value to Sheridan's Library and Learning Services. The Library team strives to always provide services and collections that are flexible, responsive and accessible to meet the needs of all our users.

Special services for those with disabilities include:

  • Alternative formats for materials held in Sheridan Library collections available upon request
  • Access to ACE
  • Retrieval of print material
  • Closed captioning and/or transcripts for videos created by Sheridan Libraries
  • Accessible facilities & spaces
  • Space for assistive technology

For Library and Learning Services accessibility questions and alternate format requests, please contact Nira Persaud Access and Instructional Support Technician.
See Accessible Library Services for more details.

The Academic Integrity Office provides education, resources and support to help you understand the practice of Academic Integrity at Sheridan. If you have any questions about Academic Integrity, or are looking for more information and resources, please visit us in the Learning Commons at::

Trafalgar Learning Commons: C-151a, Trafalgar Campus
Davis Learning Commons: J214i, Davis Campus
HMC Learning Commons: A211, HMC Campus

For more information, visit the Academic Integrity Office

Got a question? Just ask!

Chat with us in real time.

Write us at library@sheridancollege.ca

Call us at 905-845-9430 ext. 2482.

Connect with us