Angular 2 Cookbook by
Discover over 70 recipes that provide the solutions you need to know to face every challenge in Angular 2 head onAbout This Book- A first-rate reference guide with a clear structure and intuitive index that gives you as a developer exactly the information you want in exactly the way you want it- Covers no legacy material from the outdated Angular release candidates; it is up-to-date with the latest release of Angular 2.4- All the code in the book is explicitly written out, and every piece of code shown is a step towards building a simple working exampleWho This Book Is ForThis book is for developers who are competent with JavaScript and are looking to dive headfirst into the TypeScript edition of Angular 2. This book is also geared towards developers with experience in Angular 1 who are looking to make the transition.What You Will Learn- Understand how to best move an Angular 1 application to Angular 2- Build a solid foundational understanding of the core elements of Angular 2 such as components, forms, and services- Gain an ability to wield complex topics such as Observables and Promises- Properly implement applications utilizing advanced topics such as dependency injection- Know how to maximize the performance of Angular 2 applications- Understand the best ways to take an Angular 2 application from TypeScript in a code editor to a fully function application served on your site- Get to know the best practices when organizing and testing a large Angular 2 applicationIn DetailAngular 2 introduces an entirely new way to build applications. It wholly embraces all the newest concepts that are built into the next generation of browsers, and it cuts away all the fat and bloat from Angular 1. This book plunges directly into the heart of all the most important Angular 2 concepts for you to conquer. In addition to covering all the Angular 2 fundamentals, such as components, forms, and services, it demonstrates how the framework embraces a range of new web technologies such as ES6 and TypeScript syntax, Promises, Observables, and Web Workers, among many others.This book covers all the most complicated Angular concepts and at the same time introduces the best practices with which to wield these powerful tools. It also covers in detail all the concepts you'll need to get you building applications faster. Oft-neglected topics such as testing and performance optimization are widely covered as well. A developer that reads through all the content in this book will have a broad and deep understanding of all the major topics in the Angular 2 universe.Style and approachThis book follows a cookbook approach-each recipe presents a unique problem to which the solution is presented in a clear, concise, and manner step-by-step manner. With practical hands-on guidance in each and every recipe, you'll be able to get to grips with the concepts.
AngularJS by
If you want to get started with AngularJS, either as a side project, an additional tool, or for your main work, this practical guide teaches you how to use this meta-framework step-by-step, from the basics to advanced concepts. By the end of the book, you'll understand how to develop a large, maintainable, and performant application with AngularJS. Guided by two engineers who worked on AngularJS at Google, you'll learn the components needed to build data-driven applications, using declarative programming and the Model-view-controller pattern. You'll also learn how to conduct unit tests on each part of your application. Learn how to use controllers for moving data to and from views Understand when to use AngularJS services instead of controllers Communicate with the server to store, fetch, and update data asynchronously Know when to use AngularJS filters for converting data and values to different formats Implement single-page applications, using ngRoute to select views and navigation Dive into basic and advanced directives for creating reusable components Write an end-to-end test on a live version of your entire application Use best practices, guidelines, and tools throughout the development cycle
Beginning JSON by
Beginning JSON is the definitive guide to JSON - JavaScript Object Notation - today''s standard in data formatting for the web. The book starts with the basics, and walks you through all aspects of using the JSON format. Beginning JSON covers all areas of JSON from the basics of data formats to creating your own server to store and retrieve persistent data. Beginning JSON provides you with the skill set required for reading and writing properly validated JSON data. The first two brief chapters of the book contain the foundations of JavaScript as it relates to JSON, and provide the necessary understandings for later chapters. Chapters 3 through 12 reveal what data is, how to convert that data into a transmittable/storable format, how to use AJAX to send and receive JSON, and, lastly, how to reassemble that data back into a proper JavaScript object to be used by your program. The final chapters put everything you learned into practice. What you''ll learn How to work with JSON Data transmission via AJAX Incorporate Handlebars templates into your development Get up and running with NodeJS Perform HTTP requests to a local Web Server Implement a NoSQL database for JSON retrieval and storage Incorporate JSON feeds from Social APIs Who this book is for Beginning JSON is intended for front-end developers of all levels. One does not have had to have worked with JSON before. It''s for those who are seeking to work with data, AJAX, and the preferred data format of the web, JSON. Table of Contents Chapter 1: JavaScript Basics Chapter 2: Special Objects Chapter 3: String Manipulation Chapter 4: Introducing JSON Chapter 5: Creating JSON Chapter 6: Parsing JSON Chapter 7: Persisting JSON: I Chapter 8: Data Interchange Chapter 9: X-Origin Resources Chapter 10: Serving JSON Chapter 11: Posting JSON Chapter 12: Persisting JSON: II Chapter 13: Working with Templates Chapter 14: Putting It All Together
Getting Started with P5. Js by
With p5.js, you can think of your entire Web browser as your canvas for sketching with code! Learn programming the fun way--by sketching with interactive computer graphics! Getting Started with p5.js contains techniques that can be applied to creating games, animations, and interfaces. p5.js is a new interpretation of Processing written in JavaScript that makes it easy to interact with HTML5 objects, including text, input, video, webcam, and sound. Like its older sibling Processing, p5.js makes coding accessible for artists, designers, educators, and beginners. Written by the lead p5.js developer and the founders of Processing, this book provides an introduction to the creative possibilities of today's Web, using JavaScript and HTML. With Getting Started with p5.js, you'll: Quickly learn programming basics, from variables to objects Understand the fundamentals of computer graphics Create interactive graphics with easy-to-follow projects Learn to apply data visualization techniques Capture and manipulate webcam audio and video feeds in the browser
Getting Started with Processing by
Processing opened up the world of programming to artists, designers, educators, and beginners. This short book gently introduces the core concepts of computer programming and working with Processing. Written by the co-founders of the Processing project, Reas and Fry, Getting Started with Processing shows you how easy it is to make software and systems with interactive graphics. If you're an artist looking to develop interactive graphics programs or a programmer on your way to becoming an artist, this book will take you where you want to go. Updated with new material on graphics manipulation, data, and for the latest version of Processing.
Learning Web Design by
Do you want to build web pages but have no prior experience? This friendly guide is the perfect place to start. You'll begin at square one, learning how the web and web pages work, and then steadily build from there. By the end of the book, you'll have the skills to create a simple site with multicolumn pages that adapt for mobile devices. Each chapter provides exercises to help you learn various techniques and short quizzes to make sure you understand key concepts. This thoroughly revised edition is ideal for students and professionals of all backgrounds and skill levels. It is simple and clear enough for beginners, yet thorough enough to be a useful reference for experienced developers keeping their skills up to date. Build HTML pages with text, links, images, tables, and forms Use style sheets (CSS) for colors, backgrounds, formatting text, page layout, and even simple animation effects Learn how JavaScript works and why the language is so important in web design Create and optimize web images so they'll download as quickly as possible NEW! Use CSS Flexbox and Grid for sophisticated and flexible page layout NEW! Learn the ins and outs of Responsive Web Design to make web pages look great on all devices NEW! Become familiar with the command line, Git, and other tools in the modern web developer's toolkit NEW! Get to know the super-powers of SVG graphics
jQuery Cookbook by
jQuery simplifies building rich, interactive web frontends. Getting started with this JavaScript library is easy, but it can take years to fully realize its breadth and depth; this cookbook shortens the learning curve considerably. With these recipes, you'll learn patterns and practices from 19 leading developers who use jQuery for everything from integrating simple components into websites and applications to developing complex, high-performance user interfaces. Ideal for newcomers and JavaScript veterans alike, jQuery Cookbook starts with the basics and then moves to practical use cases with tested solutions to common web development hurdles. You also get recipes on advanced topics, such as methods for applying jQuery to large projects. Solve problems involving events, effects, dimensions, forms, themes, and user interface elements Learn how to enhance your forms, and how to position and reposition elements on a page Make the most of jQuery's event management system, including custom events and custom event data Create UI elements-such as tabs, accordions, and modals-from scratch Optimize your code to eliminate bottlenecks and ensure peak performance Learn how to test your jQuery applications The book's contributors include: Cody Lindley James Padolsey Ralph Whitbeck Jonathan Sharp Michael Geary and Scott Gonz#65533;lez Rebecca Murphey Remy Sharp Ariel Flesler Brian Cherne J#65533;rn Zaefferer Mike Hostetler Nathan Smith Richard D. Worth Maggie Wachs, Scott Jehl, Todd Parker, and Patty Toland Rob Burns
Learning Node by
Take your web development skills from browser to server with Node-and learn how to write fast, highly scalable network applications on this JavaScript-based platform. Updated for the latest Node Long Term Support (LTS) and Node Current (6.0) releases, this hands-on edition helps you master Node's core fundamentals and gain experience with several built-in and contributed modules. Get up to speed on Node's event-driven, asynchronous I/O model for developing data-intensive applications that are frequently accessed but computationally simple. If you're comfortable working with JavaScript, this book provides many programming and deployment examples to help you take advantage of server-side development with Node. Explore the frameworks and functionality for full-stack Node development Dive into Node's module system and package management support Test your application or module code on the fly with Node's REPL console Use core Node modules to build web applications and an HTTP server Learn Node's support for networks, security, and sockets Access operating system functionality with child processes Learn tools and techniques for Node development and production Use Node in microcontrollers, microcomputers, and the Internet of Things
Learning PHP, MySQL and JavaScript by
Build interactive, data-driven websites with the potent combination of open-source technologies and web standards, even if you have only basic HTML knowledge. With this popular hands-on guide, you'll tackle dynamic web programming with the help of today's core technologies: PHP, MySQL, JavaScript, jQuery, CSS, and HTML5. Explore each technology separately, learn how to use them together, and pick up valuable web programming practices along the way. At the end of the book, you'll put everything together to build a fully functional social networking site, using XAMPP or any development stack you choose. Learn PHP in-depth, along with the basics of object-oriented programming Explore MySQL, from database structure to complex queries Use the MySQLi Extension, PHP's improved MySQL interface Create dynamic PHP web pages that tailor themselves to the user Manage cookies and sessions, and maintain a high level of security Master the JavaScript language-and enhance it with jQuery Use Ajax calls for background browser/server communication Acquire CSS2 and CSS3 skills for professionally styling your web pages Implement all of the new HTML5 features, including geolocation, audio, video, and the canvas
Learning Processing by
Learning Processing, Second Edition, is a friendly start-up guide to Processing, a free, open-source alternative to expensive software and daunting programming languages. Requiring no previous experience, this book is for the true programming beginner. It teaches the basic building blocks of programming needed to create cutting-edge graphics applications including interactive art, live video processing, and data visualization. Step-by-step examples, thorough explanations, hands-on exercises, and sample code, supports your learning curve. A unique lab-style manual, the book gives graphic and web designers, artists, and illustrators of all stripes a jumpstart on working with the Processing programming environment by providing instruction on the basic principles of the language, followed by careful explanations of select advanced techniques. The book has been developed with a supportive learning experience at its core. From algorithms and data mining to rendering and debugging, it teaches object-oriented programming from the ground up within the fascinating context of interactive visual media. This book is ideal for graphic designers and visual artists without programming background who want to learn programming. It will also appeal to students taking college and graduate courses in interactive media or visual computing, and for self-study. A friendly start-up guide to Processing, a free, open-source alternative to expensive software and daunting programming languages No previous experience required--this book is for the true programming beginner! Step-by-step examples, thorough explanations, hands-on exercises, and sample code supports your learning curve
Mobile HTML5 by
Build kickass websites and applications for all mobile (and non-mobile) platforms by adding HTML5 and CSS3 to your web development toolkit. With this hands-on book, you’ll learn how to develop web apps that not only work on iOS, Android, Blackberry, and Windows Phone, but also perform well and provide good user experience. With lots of code and markup examples, you’ll learn best practices for using HTML5 features, including new web forms, SVG, Canvas, localStorage, and related APIs. You’ll also get an in-depth look at CSS3, and discover how to design apps for large monitors and tiny screens alike. Learn HTML5’s elements, syntax, and semantics Build forms that provide enhanced usability with less JavaScript Explore HTML5 media APIs for graphics, video, and audio Enable your applications to work offline, using AppCache, localStorage, and other APIs Learn what you need to know about CSS3 selectors and syntax Dive into CSS3 features such as multiple backgrounds, gradients, border-images, transitions, transforms, and animations Make your web applications usable, responsive, and accessible. Design for performance, user experience, and reliability on all platforms
Multimedia Programming Using Max/Msp and Touchdesigner by 
PHP and MySQL Web Development by
PHP and MySQL Web Development, Fifth Edition The definitive guide to building database-driven Web applications with PHP and MySQL PHP and MySQL are popular open-source technologies that are ideal for quickly developing database-driven Web applications. PHP is a powerful scripting language designed to enable developers to create highly featured Web applications quickly, and MySQL is a fast, reliable database that integrates well with PHP and is suited for dynamic Internet-based applications. PHP and MySQL Web Development shows how to use these tools together to produce effective, interactive Web applications. It clearly describes the basics of the PHP language, explains how to set up and work with a MySQL database, and then shows how to use PHP to interact with the database and the server. This practical, hands-on book consistently focuses on real-world applications, even in the introductory chapters. The authors cover important aspects of security and authentication as they relate to building a real-world website and show you how to implement these aspects in PHP and MySQL. They also introduce you to the integration of front-end and back-end technologies by using JavaScript in your application development. The final part of this book describes how to approach real-world projects and takes the reader through the design, planning, and building of several projects, including: User authentication and personalization Web-based email Social media integration Shopping cart The fifth edition of PHP and MySQL Web Development has been thoroughly updated, revised, and expanded to cover developments in PHP through versions 5.6 and 7, as well as features introduced in recent stable releases of MySQL. Free Access to Web Edition Purchase of this book in any format, electronic or print, includes free access to the corresponding Web Edition, which provides several special features: The complete text of the book online Exercises and interactive quizzes to test your understanding of the material Bonus chapters not included in the print or e-book editions Updates and corrections as they become available The Web Edition can be viewed on all types of computers and mobile devices with any modern web browser that supports HTML5. Contents at a Glance Part I: Using PHP 1 PHP Crash Course 2 Storing and Retrieving Data 3 Using Arrays 4 String Manipulation and Regular Expressions 5 Reusing Code and Writing Functions 6 Object-Oriented PHP 7 Error and Exception Handling Part II: Using MySQL 8 Designing Your Web Database 9 Creating Your Web Database 10 Working with Your MySQL Database 11 Accessing Your MySQL Database from the Web with PHP 12 Advanced MySQL Administration 13 Advanced MySQL Programming Part III: Web Application Security 14 Web Application Security Risks 15 Building a Secure Web Application 16 Implementing Authentication Methods with PHP Part IV: Advanced PHP Techniques 17 Interacting with the File System and the Server 18 Using Network and Protocol Functions 19 Managing the Date and Time 20 Internationalization and Localization 21 Generating Images 22 Using Session Control in PHP 23 Integrating JavaScript and PHP 24 Other Useful Features Part V: Building Practical PHP and MySQL Projects 25 Using PHP and MySQL for Large Projects 26 Debugging and Logging 27 Building User Authentication and Personalization 28 (Web Edition) Building a Web-Based Email Client with Laravel Part I 29 (Web Edition) Building a Web-Based Email Client with Laravel Part II 30 (Web Edition) Social Media Integration Sharing and Authentication 31 (Web Edition) Building a Shopping Cart Part VI: Appendix A Installing Apache, PHP, and MySQL
Processing by
Processing: Creative Coding and Generative Art in Processing 2 is a fun and creative approach to learning programming. Using the easy to learn Processing programming language, you will quickly learn how to draw with code, and from there move to animating in 2D and 3D. These basics will then open up a whole world of graphics and computer entertainment. If you've been curious about coding, but the thought of it also makes you nervous, this book is for you; if you consider yourself a creative person, maybe worried programming is too non-creative, this book is also for you; if you want to learn about the latest Processing 2.0 language release and also start making beautiful code art, this book is also definitely for you. You will learn how to develop interactive simulations, create beautiful visualizations, and even code image-manipulation applications. All this is taught using hands-on creative coding projects. Processing 2.0 is the latest release of the open-source Processing language, and includes exciting new features, such as OpenGL 2 support for enhanced 3D graphics performance. Processing: Creative Coding and Generative Art in Processing 2 is designed for independent learning and also as a primary text for an introductory computing class. Based on research funded by the National Science Foundation, this book brings together some of the most engaging and successful approaches from the digital arts and computer science classrooms. Teaches you how to program using a fun and creative approach. Covers the latest release of the Processing 2.0 language. Presents a research based approach to learning computing. What you'll learn Learn the latest features of Processing 2.0 Gain a solid understanding of coding concepts, such as design, analysis, and object-oriented programming Generate algorithmic art Code 2D and 3D interactive animations Create a visualization based on big data Who this book is for Processing: Creative Coding and Generative Art in Processing 2 is for anyone who wants to learn how to program, really anyone! It is also a great, research-based companion text for an introductory computing class. Table of Contents Diving into the Shallow End Art by Numbers Processing Boot Camp Creating Across Time and Curved Space Expressive Power of Data Organizing Chaos Creative Abstraction Drawing with Recursion Painting with Bits Expressive Imaging Spreading Your Creative Coding Wings
Programming HTML5 Applications by
HTML5 is not just a replacement for plugins. It also makes the Web a first-class development environment by giving JavaScript programmers a solid foundation for building industrial-strength applications. This practical guide takes you beyond simple site creation and shows you how to build self-contained HTML5 applications that can run on mobile devices and compete with desktop apps. You’ll learn powerful JavaScript tools for exploiting HTML5 elements, and discover new methods for working with data, such as offline storage and multithreaded processing. Complete with code samples, this book is ideal for experienced JavaScript and mobile developers alike. Store session data in the browser with local storage objects Save trips to the server: store larger amounts of data with IndexedDB Give browsers limited access to a user’s system to read and upload files Take your app offline—and speed up page loading when it’s online Use Web Workers to create multithreaded applications Transfer data between browser and server more efficiently with Web Sockets Learn about HTML5 tags for forms, multimedia, graphics, and geolocation "HTML5 is all the rage these days, but it's more than just a buzzword. Programming HTML5 Applications provides the knowledge to guide you through all the new technologies needed to make modern web applications." --Ralph Whitbeck, cohost of The Official jQuery Podcast
Programming the Mobile Web by
With the second edition of this popular book, you'll learn how to build HTML5 and CSS3-based apps that access geolocation, accelerometer, multi-touch screens, offline storage, and other features in today's smartphones, tablets, and feature phones. The market for mobile apps continues to evolve at a breakneck pace, and this book is the most complete reference available for the mobile web. Author and mobile development expert Maximiliano Firtman shows you how to develop a standard app core that you can extend to work with specific devices. This updated edition covers many recent advances in mobile development, including responsive web design techniques, offline storage, mobile design patterns, and new mobile browsers, platforms, and hardware APIs. Learn the particulars and pitfalls of building mobile websites and apps with HTML5, CSS, JavaScript and responsive techniques Create effective user interfaces for touch devices and different resolution displays Understand variations among iOS, Android, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, Firefox OS, and other mobile platforms Bypass the browser to create native web apps, ebooks, and PhoneGap applications Build apps for browsers and online retailers such as the App Store, Google Play Store, Windows Store, and App World
SVG Animations by
SVG is extremely powerful, with its reduced HTTP requests and crispness on any display. It becomes increasingly more interesting as you explore its capabilities for responsive animation and performance boons. When you animate SVG, you must be aware of normal image traits like composition, color, implementation, and optimization. But when you animate, it increases the complexity of each of these factors exponentially. This practical book takes a deep dive into how you can to solve these problems with stability, performance, and creativity in mind. Learn how to make SVG cross-browser compatible, backwards compatible, optimized, and responsive Plan and debug animation Make a complex animation responsive, as many sites are responsive Profile each animation technique in terms of performance so that you know what you're getting in to with each library or native technology
Web Development with MongoDB and NodeJS - Second Edition by
Build an interactive and full-featured web application from scratch using Node.js and MongoDBAbout This Book- Configure your development environment to use Node.js and MongoDB- Use Node.js to connect to a MongoDB database and perform data manipulations- A practical guide with clear instructions to design and develop a complete web application from start to finishWho This Book Is ForThis book is designed for JavaScript developers of any skill level that want to get up and running using Node.js and MongoDB to build full-featured web applications. A basic understanding of JavaScript and HTML is the only requirement for this book.What You Will Learn- Configure your development environment to use Node.js and MongoDB- Write and configure a web server using Node.js powered by the Express.js framework- Build dynamic HTML pages using the Handlebars template engine- Persist application data using MongoDB and Mongoose ODM- Test your code using automated testing tools such as the Mocha framework- Deploy the development environment to the cloud using services such as Heroku, Amazon Web Services, and Microsoft Azure- Explore Single-Page application frameworks to take your web applications to the next levelIn DetailNode.js and MongoDB are quickly becoming one of the most popular tech stacks for the web. Powered by Google's V8 engine, Node.js caters to easily building fast, scalable network applications while MongoDB is the perfect fit as a scalable, high-performance, open source NoSQL database solution. Using these two technologies together, web applications can be built quickly and easily and deployed to the cloud with very little difficulty.The book will begin by introducing you to the groundwork needed to set up the development environment. Here, you will quickly run through the steps necessary to get the main application server up and running. Then you will see how to use Node.js to connect to a MongoDB database and perform data manipulations.From here on, the book will take you through integration with third-party tools for interaction with web apps. It then moves on to show you how to use controllers and view models to generate reusable code that will reduce development time. Toward the end of the book, we will cover tests to properly execute the code and some popular frameworks for developing web applications.By the end of the book, you will have a running web application developed with MongoDB and Node.js along with it's popular frameworks.Style and approachAn easy guide to Node.js and MongoDB, which will quickly introduce you to the relevant concepts by taking you through the different steps involved in building a full-fledged web application.
WebGL by
This book is a step-by-step tutorial that includes complete source code for all of the examples covered. Every chapter builds on top of the previous one thereby giving the reader an immediate feeling of progression. Each block of code is explained, and 3D web development concepts are diagrammed and covered in detail. This book is written for JavaScript developers who are interested in 3D web development. A basic understanding of the DOM object model and the jQuery library is ideal but not required. No prior WebGL knowledge is expected.
About Face by
The essential interaction design guide, fully revised and updated for the mobile age About Face: The Essentials of Interaction Design, Fourth Edition is the latest update to the book that shaped and evolved the landscape of interaction design. This comprehensive guide takes the worldwide shift to smartphones and tablets into account. New information includes discussions on mobile apps, touch interfaces, screen size considerations, and more. The new full-color interior and unique layout better illustrate modern design concepts. The interaction design profession is blooming with the success of design-intensive companies, priming customers to expect "design" as a critical ingredient of marketplace success. Consumers have little tolerance for websites, apps, and devices that don't live up to their expectations, and the responding shift in business philosophy has become widespread. About Face is the book that brought interaction design out of the research labs and into the everyday lexicon, and the updated Fourth Edition continues to lead the way with ideas and methods relevant to today's design practitioners and developers. Updated information includes: Contemporary interface, interaction, and product design methods Design for mobile platforms and consumer electronics State-of-the-art interface recommendations and up-to-date examples Updated Goal-Directed Design methodology Designers and developers looking to remain relevant through the current shift in consumer technology habits will find About Face to be a comprehensive, essential resource.
Designing for Interaction by
Building products and services that people interact with is the big challenge of the 21st century. Dan Saffer has done an amazing job synthesizing the chaos into an understandable, ordered reference that is a bookshelf must-have for anyone thinking of creating new designs." -- Jared Spool, CEO of User Interface Engineering Interaction design is all around us. If you've ever wondered why your mobile phone looks pretty but doesn't work well, you've confronted bad interaction design. But if you've ever marveled at the joy of using an iPhone, shared your photos on Flickr, used an ATM machine, recorded a television show on TiVo, or ordered a movie off Netflix, you've encountered good interaction design: products that work as well as they look. Interaction design is the new field that defines how our interactive products behave. Between the technology that powers our devices and the visual and industrial design that creates the products' aesthetics lies the practice that figures out how to make our products useful, usable, and desirable. This thought-provoking new edition of Designing for Interaction offers the perspective of one of the most respected experts in the field, Dan Saffer. This book will help you learn to create a design strategy that differentiates your product from the competition use design research to uncover people's behaviors, motivations, and goals in order to design for them employ brainstorming best practices to create innovativenew products and solutions understand the process and methods used to define product behavior It also offers interviews and case studies from industry leaders on prototyping, designing in an Agile environment, service design, ubicomp, robots, and more.
Designing UX: Prototyping by
It's well known that identifying and fixing problems in design is easier and cheaper if it can be done earlier in the process of design and build. That's because as the fidelity of the project we're working on increases, the effort involved in making changes increases. If we can test out early ideas to see if they work, in small chunks, then we can identify whether those ideas are going to work. To do this, we need to build prototypes. With easy-to-follow, practical advice, this book will show you how to use a number of different prototyping techniques to improve UX. It covers: The prototyping process Paper prototyping Interactive wireframing tools, such as Balsamiq and Axure Dedicated prototyping tools, including Marvel, Invision, and Adobe XD HTML prototypes How to use prototypes in your project workflow
The Elements of User Experience by
From the moment it was published almost ten years ago, Elements of User Experience became a vital reference for web and interaction designers the world over, and has come to define the core principles of the practice. Now, in this updated, expanded, and full-color new edition, Jesse James Garrett has refined his thinking about the Web, going beyond the desktop to include information that also applies to the sudden proliferation of mobile devices and applications. Successful interaction design requires more than just creating clean code and sharp graphics. You must also fulfill your strategic objectives while meeting the needs of your users. Even the best content and the most sophisticated technology won't help you balance those goals without a cohesive, consistent user experience to support it. With so many issues involved--usability, brand identity, information architecture, interaction design-- creating the user experience can be overwhelmingly complex. This new edition of The Elements of User Experience cuts through that complexity with clear explanations and vivid illustrations that focus on ideas rather than tools or techniques. Garrett gives readers the big picture of user experience development, from strategy and requirements to information architecture and visual design.
Information Architecture by
Information architecture (IA) is far more challenging-and necessary-than ever. With the glut of information available today, anything your organization wants to share should be easy to find, navigate, and understand. But the experience you provide has to be familiar and coherent across multiple interaction channels, from the Web to smartphones, smartwatches, and beyond. To guide you through this broad ecosystem, this popular guide-now in its fourth edition-provides essential concepts, methods, and techniques for digital design that have withstood the test of time. UX designers, product managers, developers, and anyone involved in digital design will learn how to create semantic structures that will help people engage with your message. This book includes: An overview of IA and the problems it solves for creating effective digital products and services A deep dive into IA components, including organization, labeling, navigation, search, and metadata Processes and methods that take you from research to strategy, design, and IA implementation
Interaction Design by
A revision of the #1 text in the Human Computer Interaction field, Interaction Design, the third edition is an ideal resource for learning the interdisciplinary skills needed for interaction design, human-computer interaction, information design, web design and ubiquitous computing. The authors are acknowledged leaders and educators in their field, with a strong global reputation. They bring depth of scope to the subject in this new edition, encompassing the latest technologies and devices including social networking, Web 2.0 and mobile devices. The third edition also adds, develops and updates cases, examples and questions to bring the book in line with the latest in Human Computer Interaction. Interaction Design offers a cross-disciplinary, practical and process-oriented approach to Human Computer Interaction, showing not just what principles ought to apply to Interaction Design, but crucially how they can be applied. The book focuses on how to design interactive products that enhance and extend the way people communicate, interact and work. Motivating examples are included to illustrate both technical, but also social and ethical issues, making the book approachable and adaptable for both Computer Science and non-Computer Science users. Interviews with key HCI luminaries are included and provide an insight into current and future trends. The book has an accompanying website www.id-book.com which has been updated to include resources to match the new edition.
Measuring the User Experience by
Measuring the User Experience provides the first single source of practical information to enable usability professionals and product developers to effectively measure the usability of any product by choosing the right metric, applying it, and effectively using the information it reveals. Authors Tullis and Albert organize dozens of metrics into six categories: performance, issues-based, self-reported, web navigation, derived, and behavioral/physiological. They explore each metric, considering best methods for collecting, analyzing, and presenting the data. They provide step-by-step guidance for measuring the usability of any type of product using any type of technology. This book is recommended for usability professionals, developers, programmers, information architects, interaction designers, market researchers, and students in an HCI or HFE program. . Presents criteria for selecting the most appropriate metric for every case . Takes a product and technology neutral approach . Presents in-depth case studies to show how organizations have successfully used the metrics and the information they revealed
Pervasive Information Architecture by
Pervasive Information Architecture explains the 'why' and 'how' of pervasive information architecture (IA) through detailed examples and real-world stories. It offers insights about trade-offs that can be made and techniques for even the most unique design challenges. The book will help readers master agile information structures while meeting their unique needs on such devices as smart phones, GPS systems, and tablets. The book provides examples showing how to: model and shape information to adapt itself to users' needs, goals, and seeking strategies; reduce disorientation and increase legibility and way-finding in digital and physical spaces; and alleviate the frustration associated with choosing from an ever-growing set of information, services, and goods. It also describes relevant connections between pieces of information, services and goods to help users achieve their goals. This book will be of value to practitioners, researchers, academics, andstudents in user experience design, usability, information architecture, interaction design, HCI, web interaction/interface designer, mobile application design/development, and information design. Architects and industrial designers moving into the digital realm will also find this book helpful. Master agile information structures while meeting the unique user needs on such devices as smart phones, GPS systems, and tablets Find out the 'why' and 'how' of pervasive information architecture (IA) through detailed examples and real-world stories Learn about trade-offs that can be made and techniques for even the most unique design challenges
Rocket Surgery Made Easy by
It's been known for years that usability testing can dramatically improve products. But with a typical price tag of $5,000 to $10,000 for a usability consultant to conduct each round of tests, it rarely happens. In this how-to companion to Don't Make Me Think: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability, Steve Krug spells out a streamlined approach to usability testing that anyone can easily apply to their own Web site, application, or other product. (As he said in Don't Make Me Think, "It's not rocket surgery".) Using practical advice, plenty of illustrations, and his trademark humor, Steve explains how to: Test any design, from a sketch on a napkin to a fully-functioning Web site or application Keep your focus on finding the most important problems (because no one has the time or resources to fix them all) Fix the problems that you find, using his "The least you can do" approach By paring the process of testing and fixing products down to its essentials ("A morning a month, that's all we ask"), Rocket Surgery makes it realistic for teams to test early and often, catching problems while it's still easy to fix them. Rocket Surgery Made Easy adds demonstration videos to the proven mix of clear writing, before-and-after examples, witty illustrations, and practical advice that made Don't Make Me Think so popular.
Search Patterns by
What people are saying about Search Patterns "Search Patterns is a delight to read -- very thoughtful and thought provoking. It's the most comprehensive survey of designing effective search experiences I've seen." --Irene Au, Director of User Experience, Google "I love this book! Thanks to Peter and Jeffery, I now know that search (yes, boring old yucky who cares search) is one of the coolest ways around of looking at the world." --Dan Roam, author, The Back of the Napkin (Portfolio Hardcover) "Search Patterns is a playful guide to the practical concerns of search interface design. It contains a bonanza of screenshots and illustrations that capture the best of today's design practices and presents a fresh perspective on the broader role of search and discovery." --Marti Hearst, Professor, UC Berkeley and author, Search User Interfaces (Cambridge University Press) "It's not often I come across a book that asks profound questions about a fundamental human activity, and then proceeds to answer those questions with practical observations and suggestions. Search Patterns is an expedition into the heart of the web and human cognition, and for me it was a delightful journey that delivered scores of insights." --Dave Gray, Founder and Chairman, XPLANE "Search is swiftly transforming everything we know, yet people don't understand how mavens design search: by stacking breadcrumbs, scenting widgets, and keeping eyeballs on the engine. I urge you to put your eyeballs on this unique and important book." --Bruce Sterling, Writer, Futurist, and Co-Founder, The Electronic Frontier Foundation "As one who searches a lot (and often ends up frustrated), Search Patterns is a revelation." --Nigel Holmes, Designer, Theorist, and Principal, Explanation Graphics "Search Patterns is a fabulous must-have book! Inside, you'll learn the whys and wheres of practically every modern search design trick and technique." --Jared Spool, CEO and Founder, User Interface Engineering Search is among the most disruptive innovations of our time. It influences what we buy and where we go. It shapes how we learn and what we believe. In this provocative and inspiring book, you'll explore design patterns that apply across the categories of web, ecommerce, enterprise, desktop, mobile, social, and real-time search and discovery. Filled with colorful illustrations and examples, Search Patterns brings modern information retrieval to life, covering such diverse topics as relevance, faceted navigation, multi-touch, personalization, visualization, multi-sensory search, and augmented reality. By drawing on their own experience-as well as best practices and evidence-based research-the authors not only offer a practical guide to help you build effective search applications, they also challenge you to imagine the future of discovery. You'll find Search Patterns intriguing and invaluable, whether you're a web practitioner, mobile designer, search entrepreneur, or just interested in the topic. Discover a pattern language for search that embraces user psychology and behavior, information architecture, interaction design, and emerging technology Boost enterprise efficiency and e-commerce sales Enable mobile users to achieve goals, complete tasks, and find what they need Drive design innovation for search interfaces and applications
Sketching User Experiences by
Sketching User Experiences approaches design and design thinking as something distinct that needs to be better understood-by both designers and the people with whom they need to work- in order to achieve success with new products and systems. So while the focus is on design, the approach is holistic. Hence, the book speaks to designers, usability specialists, the HCI community, product managers, and business executives. There is an emphasis on balancing the back-end concern with usability and engineering excellence (getting the design right) with an up-front investment in sketching and ideation (getting the right design). Overall, the objective is to build the notion of informed design: molding emerging technology into a form that serves our society and reflects its values. Grounded in both practice and scientific research, Bill Buxton's engaging work aims to spark the imagination while encouraging the use of new techniques, breathing new life into user experience design. Covers sketching and early prototyping design methods suitable for dynamic product capabilities: cell phones that communicate with each other and other embedded systems, "smart" appliances, and things you only imagine in your dreams Thorough coverage of the design sketching method which helps easily build experience prototypes-without the effort of engineering prototypes which are difficult to abandon Reaches out to a range of designers, including user interface designers, industrial designers, software engineers, usability engineers, product managers, and others Full of case studies, examples, exercises, and projects, and access to video clips that demonstrate the principles and methods
Visualize This by
Practical data design tips from a data visualization expert of the modern age Data doesn?t decrease; it is ever-increasing and can be overwhelming to organize in a way that makes sense to its intended audience. Wouldn?t it be wonderful if we could actually visualize data in such a way that we could maximize its potential and tell a story in a clear, concise manner? Thanks to the creative genius of Nathan Yau, we can. With this full-color book, data visualization guru and author Nathan Yau uses step-by-step tutorials to show you how to visualize and tell stories with data. He explains how to gather, parse, and format data and then design high quality graphics that help you explore and present patterns, outliers, and relationships. Presents a unique approach to visualizing and telling stories with data, from a data visualization expert and the creator of flowingdata.com, Nathan Yau Offers step-by-step tutorials and practical design tips for creating statistical graphics, geographical maps, and information design to find meaning in the numbers Details tools that can be used to visualize data-native graphics for the Web, such as ActionScript, Flash libraries, PHP, and JavaScript and tools to design graphics for print, such as R and Illustrator Contains numerous examples and descriptions of patterns and outliers and explains how to show them Visualize This demonstrates how to explain data visually so that you can present your information in a way that is easy to understand and appealing.
Here are some books that your professors selected. Login using your Sheridan login and password.
