All Guides: 2SLGBTQ+ Studies: Law & Justice

Law & Justice

LGBTQ+ communities have endured a long and drawn out battle for equality under the law. Discover more about their journey and continuing struggles below.

Canadian Law

The Ontario Human Rights Commission is the primary organization tasked with protecting the rights of the citizens of Ontario. Their site provides valuable information regarding what rights are protected, as well as strategies for preventing harassment and discrimination. See: Gender Identity and Gender Expression, Sexual Orientation

CanLII: Canadian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
CanLii.org provides public access to legislation and cases in Canada. You can view previous iterations of the law to see how it has changed over time. When looking for legislation and case law related to LGBTQ+ people, use the terms "sexual orientation" or "gender identity" or "same sex".

Search the Library

Databases

The following databases offer legal commentary or discuss criminology from a sociological perspective. Use keyword searching to find articles on your topic.

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international criminal justice journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Over 860 full-text journals dating back to 1908, full-text for more than 850 books, as well as selected conference papers from the field of sociology.
Lexis Advance Quicklaw This link opens in a new window
Access to Canadian legislation, court cases, tribunals, arbitration decisions, and legal journals. Funded by The Law Foundation of Ontario.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Access data and reports from over 18,000 sources, including Statistics Canada. Find national reports on LGBTQ+ rights, as well as the criminalization of homosexuality, and public acceptance of homosexuality in countries around the world.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Our largest ebook collection. Multidisciplinary. Includes publications from the University of Toronto.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Thousands of downloadable e-book titles covering a wide range of all academic disciplines. Includes the College Complete Collection, made available by the Colleges eBook Consortium Project.