100 Things Every Designer Needs to Know about People (2nd ed.)
by
WE DESIGN TO ELICIT RESPONSES from people. We want them to buy something, read more, or take action of some kind. Designing without understanding what makes people act the way they do is like exploring a new city without a map: results will be haphazard, confusing, and inefficient. This book combines real science and research with practical examples to deliver a guide every designer needs. With this book you'll design more intuitive and engaging apps, software, websites and products that match the way people think, decide and behave. INCREASE THE EFFECTIVENESS OF YOUR PRODUCTS. Apply psychology and behavioral science to your designs. Here are some of the questions this book will answer: • What grabs and holds attention. • What makes memories stick? • What is more important, peripheral or central vision? • Can you predict the types of errors people will make? • What is the limit to someone's social circle? • What line length for text is best? • Are some fonts better than others? These are just a few of the questions that the book answers in its deep-dive exploration of what makes people tick.
A Designer's Research Manual: Succeed in Design by Knowing Your Clients and What They Really Need
by
A Designer's Research Manual equips designers with essential research skills to drive innovation. This updated edition covers 25+ strategies, research planning, analysis, and integration into design. Featuring new case studies and practical tips, it helps designers apply research effectively across projects of any scale.
Don't Make Me Think: Web & Mobile Usability (3rd ed.)
by
Steven Krug can be considered as the godfather of usability and user testing. This book is a classic to read on usability and user testing. However, the information is a bit “dated”, but still provide a nice base for the discipline.
Just Enough Research (2nd ed.)
by
Good research is about asking more and better questions, and thinking critically about the answers. Done well, it will save your team time and money by reducing unknowns and creating a solid foundation to build the right thing, in the most effective way. Erika Hall distills her experience into a guidebook of trusted research methods you can implement right away, no matter what size team you're on or budget you're working with. Learn how to discover your competitive advantages, spot your own blind spots and biases, understand and harness your findings, and why you should never, ever hold a focus group. You’ll start doing good research faster than you can plan your next pitch.
Measuring the User Experience: Collecting, Analyzing and Presenting UX Metrics
by
Measuring the User Experience: Collecting, Analyzing, and Presenting UX Metrics, Third Edition provides the quantitative analysis training that students and professionals need. This book presents an update on the first resource that focused on how to quantify user experience. Now in its third edition, the authors have expanded on the area of behavioral and physiological metrics, splitting that chapter into sections that cover eye-tracking and measuring emotion. The book also contains new research and updated examples, several new case studies, and new examples using the most recent version of Excel. Helps readers learn which metrics to select for every case, including behavioral, physiological, emotional, aesthetic, gestural, verbal and physical, as well as more specialized metrics such as eye-tracking and clickstream data Provides a vendor-neutral examination on how to measure the user experience with websites, digital products, and virtually any other type of product or system Contains new and in-depth global case studies that show how organizations have successfully used metrics, along with the information they revealed Includes a companion site, www.measuringux.com, that has articles, tools, spreadsheets, presentations and other resources that help readers effectively measure user experience
Remote Usability Testing: Actionable Insights in User Behavior Across Geographies and Time zones
by
Gain actionable insights from qualitative remote studies to improve user experience Key Features Understand the different usability testing methodologies and their strengths and weaknesses Master the execution of remote studies Learn how to analyze and present study results Book Description Usability testing is a subdiscipline of User Experience. Its goal is to ensure that a given product is easy to use and the user's experience with the product is intuitive and satisfying. Usability studies are conducted with study participants who are representative of the target users to gather feedback on a user interface. The feedback is then used to refine and improve the user interface. Remote studies involve fewer logistics, allow participation regardless of location and are quicker and cheaper to execute compared to in person studies, while delivering valuable insights. The users are not inhibited by being in a new environment under observation; they can act naturally in their familiar environment. Remote unmoderated studies additionally have the advantage of being independent of time zones. This book will teach you how to conduct qualitative remote usability studies, in particular remote moderated and unmoderated studies. Each chapter provides actionable tips on how to use each methodology and how to compensate for the specific nature of each methodology. The book also provides material to help with planning and executing each study type. What you will learn Choose the most suitable remote study methodology Establish a clear goal for the study Plan the study execution Understand recruitment logistics, expectations and compensation Set up and moderate remote studies Write good tasks and questions for each methodology Analyze and document the study results Deliver results that align with the goal for the study Who this book is for This book is for user experience (UX) professionals familiar with traditional in-person usability testing methodologies, or for UX designers with no prior exposure to user research and usability testing. Customer experience professionals or product managers who want to understand remote usability testing will also find this book useful. No knowledge of remote usability testing is needed.
Research Design: Quantitative, Qualitative, Mixed Methods, Arts-Based, and Community-Based Participatory Research Approaches
by
This user-friendly book provides a step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design: quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research. Chapters on each approach follow a unique format--they present a template for a research proposal and explain in detail how to conceptualize and fill in every section. Terminology commonly used within each approach is identified, and key moments of ethical decision making are flagged. Interdisciplinary research examples draw on current events and social justice topics. Unique coverage includes hot topics: replication studies and data sharing, tailoring proposals to different audiences, and more. The book also includes a general introduction to social research; an in-depth, practical discussion of ethics; and a chapter on how to begin a research study, from planning a topic to developing a research question via a literature review. Pedagogical Features *Multiple "Review Stops" in each chapter--quick quizzes with answer keys. *End-of-chapter writing exercises, research activities, and suggested resources. *Bold-face key terms and an end-of-book glossary. *Boxed tips from experts in the respective approaches. *Supplemental PowerPoint slides for instructors using the book in a class. Winner (Third Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Nursing Research Category
Research for Designers
by
Design is everywhere. It influences how we live, what we wear, how we communicate, what we buy, and how we behave. To design for the real world and define strategies rather than just implement them, you need to learn how to understand and solve complex, intricate and often unexpected problems. Research for Designers is the guide to this new, evidence-based creative process for anyone doing research in Design Studies or looking to develop their design research skills. The book: Takes an organized approach to walking you through the basics of research. Highlights the importance of data. Encourages you to think in a cross-disciplinary way. Including interviews with 10 design experts from across the globe, this guide helps you put theory into practice and conduct successful design research.
Universal Methods of Design, Expanded and Revised: 100 Ways to Research Complex Problems, Develop Innovative Ideas, and Design Effective Solutions
by
Universal Methods of Design, Expanded and Revised presents 125 research methods for human-centered design in a clear, accessible format. This updated edition adds 25 new methods, including behavioral design and transition design. Each method is distilled into a two-page spread with descriptions, case studies, and visual guides to help design teams select the right approach. Covering everything from affinity diagramming to simulation exercises, this resource simplifies user research and fosters collaboration, making it essential for designers at all levels.
The User Experience Team of One: A Research and Design Survival Guide (2nd ed., audio file)
by
The User Experience Team of One prescribes a range of approaches that have big impact and take less time and fewer resources than the standard lineup of UX deliverables. Whether you want to cross over into user experience or you're a seasoned practitioner trying to drag your organization forward, this book gives you tools and insight for doing more with less.
User Research: Improve Product and Service Design and Enhance Your UX Research
by
Despite businesses often being based on creating desirable experiences, products and services for consumers, many fail to consider the end user in their planning and development processes. This book is here to change that. User experience research, also known as UX research, focuses on understanding user behaviours, needs and motivations through a range of observational techniques, task analysis and other methodologies. User Research is a practical guide that shows readers how to use the vast array of user research methods available. Written by one of the UK's leading UX research professionals, readers can benefit from in-depth knowledge that explores the fundamentals of user research. Covering all the key research methods including face-to-face user testing, card sorting, surveys, A/B testing and many more, the book gives expert insight into the nuances, advantages and disadvantages of each, while also providing guidance on how to interpret, analyze and share the data once it has been obtained. Now in its second edition, User Research provides a new chapter on research operations and infrastructure as well as new material on combining user research methodologies.
