Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Examples
Author Last Name, Given Name(s). "Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary, edited by Given Name Last Name (if given), Publisher (if given), Date of publication or last update, URL. Accessed date (optional).
|
Works Cited |
In-Text Citation |
|
|---|---|---|
|
Dictionary, in print, unknown author |
"Integrity." Longman Active Study Dictionary, 5th ed., Pearson Education, 2010, p. 56. |
("Integrity" 56) |
|
Dictionary from a public website, known author Accessed dates are optional but especially important when content is prone to change and there's no publication or update date.
|
Stamp, Robert. "Alberta." The Canadian Encyclopedia, Historica Canada, 30 Nov. 2021, thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/alberta. |
(Stamp) |
|
Encyclopedia as a library database For in-text citations, omit the number if the source has no page number, or other numbered parts (numbered paragraphs, sections or chapters)
|
"Neoclassical Art and Architecture." Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, 2018, search.ebscohost.com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login.aspx?direct=true&db=funk&AN=NE025100&site=ehost-live&scope=site. |
("Neoclassical Art and Architecture") |
|
Encyclopedia that is part of a library database, with editor Note: Use UP for University Press when it appears in a publisher's name.
|
"Shark." The Columbia Encyclopedia, edited by Paul Lagasse, Columbia UP, 2016. Credo Reference, search.credoreference.com/content/entry/columency/shark/0. |
("Shark") |
