Library and Learning Services provides guidance and extra support for students learning how to reference sources for academic assignments. Start with:
The Citation Guide
See the Citation Guide for everything you need to know about citation. The guide includes reference list examples, video tutorials, and more.
The Tutoring Centre
Drop by the Tutoring Centre at your campus. See the Hours and locations.
Book a citation specialist through the Tutoring booking system. Bring your citations and references, and Citation specialists will help answer your citation questions.
Book an online tutoring session. Online tutoring is available on evenings and weekends.
The library offers a variety of support for ESL learners, such as:
ESL Resources
We have many resources available for all levels of ESL students to improve reading, writing, listening and speaking skills. See our English as a Second Language (ESL) guide for more details.
Conversation Circles
Conversation Circles are informal sessions at each campus, hosted by English tutors from the Tutoring Centre. Schedules are posted on the Tutoring site, under Appointments & Drop-in Tutoring.
The library provides more than just books! Explore these other great collections and services:
- Study Rooms - a great place to work together on projects or practice presentations.
- Videos & Streaming Collections - find computer software instructions, study skills tips, business advice, documentaries, news reports, and feature films.
- Board games - find chess, Scrabble, Taboo, Clue, and lots more to test your skills.
- Research Help - Find the best resources for your assignments.
- Data Services - Get help locating and analyzing big data with the Data Connection team.
All around the world, people use different English words to say the same thing. Here are a few common terms you might hear around the library.
Issue, Charge, or Check Out?
(v.)To borrow material from the library for a certain period of time.
- In Canada, we often use "check out". Example: May I check out this book, please?
Xerox, Photocopy, or Photostate?
(v.) To produce a copy of a printed page(s) or other item(s) using a photocopier.
- In Canada, we often use "photocopy" or "copy". Example: Can you help me photocopy this page?
Database, Site, or Subscription?
(n.) Similar to how you might subscribe to Netflix, a database is a website that a library subscribes to on your behalf. Databases generally provide access to books, articles, videos, audio, or other types of content.
- In Canada, we often use "database". Example: Which database should I use?
Bookstore
Library
To access ebooks, all you need is your Sheridan Credentials (username/password). No special app or log in is required.
Use Page 1+ Search
Find an Ebook Database
