Streaming Video Collections

Criterion On-Demand provides over 1,700 feature films from Criterion Pictures.  This collection provides access to Hollywood and foreign productions for educational use.

Search the Criterion On-Demand Database

1. Go to the library's A-Z Database List, or follow this link: Criterion On-Demand
2. Log in with your Sheridan user ID and password
3. Using the Search box, search for specific titles, or browse film collections by subjects/genres.

Find Videos through the Catalogue

1. Go to the library homepage: http://library.sheridancollege.ca
2. Select Catalogue, under Search the Library, and enter your title
3. Each catalogue record has a direct link to the video details page

Download a Video

1. Go to the video details page
2. Select the Download radial button
3. Click the play icon
4. A pop-up window will open with details on how to download the file; follow the directions provided

NOTE: The video file will remain on your computer for only 48 hours.

Stream a Video

1. Go to the video details page
2. Select the Stream radial button
3. Click the play icon
4. A pop-up window will open with the video player

Add Direct Links to SLATE

1. Find the film you would like to link to in the search box, or subject search: Criterion On Demand.
2. Copy the URL from the main address bar. Check to ensure the URL has film number, for example: https://media3-criterionpic-com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/htbin/wwform/006?T=F032231
3. When copying the link into SLATE, add the Sheridan Library prefix to the URL: https://login.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login?url=

Example:
For the film, "The Aftermath",
- the stable URL is: https://media3-criterionpic-com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/htbin/wwform/006?T=F032231
- the link on your SLATE page for on- and off-campus access is: https://login.library.sheridanc.on.ca/login?url=https://media3-criterionpic-com.library.sheridanc.on.ca/htbin/wwform/006?T=F032231

Can I stream this for my students while in class?

Yes. Streaming in a classroom setting is permitted.

Can I view a list of current titles from the Criterion collection?

Yes. Please submit a ticket to the Library Helpdesk. 

I'm seeing a "Connection timeout error," what should I do?

If video details page is slow to load, you may encounter a "connection timeout error." To clear this, it is best to clear your browser's cache and cookies. Follow these instructions on how to clear a browser's cache and cookies.

Operating Systems: Windows 7+, MAC 10.5+ (desktop only)
Browsers: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Chrome, Safari
Applications: Silverlight plugin (you will be prompted to download the plugin); see full list of system requirements for Silverlight.
Note: Silverlight does not work with current versions of Chrome. Here is a workaround, or you can try another browser.

Additional features:

• Download or Streaming available
• Off-campus access is permitted
• Closed captioning, available upon request. Please submit a ticket to the Library Helpdesk.
• No embed code provided
• Not mobile-friendly