Streaming Video Collections

Theatre Performance and Design Collection (National Theatre Collection) is a comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater from production and design to performance, from the 17th century through to the present day, including, set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, makeup, and more.

Operating Systems: Windows 7+, MAC 10.5+ 

Mobile Operating Systems: iOS, Android

Browsers: Microsoft Edge, Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, and Safari. Theatre Performance and Design Collection (National Theatre Collection) is part of Alexander Street, please see Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) Help for appropriate browser settings.

Additional features:

• Streaming available
• Mobile first interface making easy to use on most devises
• Off-campus access is permitted
• Closed captioning for most videos is available
• Permanent links and Embed codes are available
• Full transcripts available
• Some performing arts videos have multilingual subtitles
• Most non-English videos include embedded English subtitles

Here are a few common tasks to get you started.

Copy direct link

• Go to the Database A-Z list and locate Theatre Performance and Design Collection (National Theatre Collection)
• Click on the title you would like to link to
• Click the share tab at the top of the page
• Click the button 'Copy LTI Launch URL'
• The button will turn green, paste the link where you wish to share

Copy embed code

• Go to the Database A-Z list and locate Theatre Performance and Design Collection (National Theatre Collection) 
• Click on the title you would like to link to
• Click the share tab at the top of the page
• Click the button 'Copy Embed Code' 
• The button will turn green, paste the code where you wish to share

See the Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) Help Center for more tips and tricks.

Can I add a video to SLATE?

Yes. You can link to the video using the link provided via Theatre Performance and Design Collection (National Theatre Collection) (directions above).

Can I stream this for my students while in class?

Yes. Streaming in a classroom setting is permitted.